Yep…still stinging from the Solheim Cup results, but I trudge onward…
This past weekend of action provided its fair share of fantastic golf, and some, not so fantastic. Here’s a rewiew.
Europe Wins Solheim Cup
It what many are marking as an improbable feat, Team Europe snatched the Solheim Cup away from the United States. Again, still smarting over it, but there were new names and some awesome play…
First, I was one of the “observers” that was slighting US Captain Rosie Jones selecting Ryann O’Toole as one of her picks. The crow has been consumed. O’Toole played phenomenal golf in achieving 3 points. Who seriously saw that coming? Be honest now.
Also, the play wasn’t fantastic, but I loved the singles match between Juli Inkster and Laura Davies. Was it a “fix” for this match to go off? Don’t really care, but I heard it was. They had never faced each other in singles, something hard to believe considering the number of Cup teams in which both have been a member.
I noticed something else. Despite losing her singles match to Suzann Pettersen, I think we witnessed Michelle Wie mature even more as a top notch talent. She has game and with her graduation from Stanford not far off, we may witness even more greatness from the one time prodigy.
Last, I wept as well for Cristie Kerr. Looking at the big picture, I don’t think I need to elaborate on how important her singles match against Kaaren Stupples was not only to her, but to the team. A win, and the US retains the Cup. It was a winnable match, but I will not point any fingers on that.
Stop me when you’ve heard this one. John Daly called it quits. This time over a rulings dispute during the Austrian Open. It all started on the 15th hole of the third round. Daly has already put one in the water. After playing his third, he flew the green and into a support for a TV cameras. After taking a drop, and while walking to the 16th tee, he was approached by a rules official who requested that Daly re-enact the drop process.
The ruling: a two shot penalty as Daly did not play his drop from a proper place. Did I mention that Daly also tossed one of his club in the water? I didn’t? Sorry…
Pandemonium ensued. Not really, but we all are well aware that Daly can be volatile. He didn’t storm off the course (thank goodness), but he did say he was “done”. He did manage to inform his playing partners, one being a miffed Miguel Angel Jimenez, of his decision.
I hope tournament organizers worldwide took note of this. Daly’s days as a legitimate threat to win a tourney are done. He still is a draw, and that’s where the catch-22 comes into play. Daly will up the attendance for at least the first two days. After that, it’s a “who knows” deal: who knows if he’ll contend and who knows what theatrics will occur.
This season, Daly has been entered in 18 tournaments on the PGA TOUR. He has made 6 cuts. He has finished a tournament under par once. Yet he continually receives sponsor exemptions and the like. Time for this to cease.
Bill Haas Wins TOUR Championship and FedEx Cup
Going into the playoff for the TOUR Championship, Bill Hass had already congratulated Luke Donald on winning the FedEx Cup. Little did he know…
But this will not be remembered for Haas pulling of the double-win. It will be known for this…
Good things he’s wearing black pants, huh? Taupe may have been better, but I’m no fashion guru.
Shot of the year? Most likely, but Haas also stormed back into the picture as a Captain’s pick for the US Presidents Cup team.
Poor Keegan Bradley.
Tiger Hires Lacava as Caddie
This has so much steam that it will burn you. For the latest episode of “Keeping up with Tiger”, we introduce a new addition to the Tiger Circle…caddie Joe LaCava.
Quick recap…LaCava began the season on the bag of Fred Couples. Then, Dustin Johnson became his next employer. Now, it’s on to Tiger’s world.
Apparently DJ wants to play in some more Euro events next year. LaCava, father of a 12 and 14-year-old, wants to spend more time with his children. Can’t fault him for that. LaCava contacts Tiger about the vacancy and all goes well. Tiger hires LaCava. Sounds okay, doesn’t it?
Well, there’s now a ripple building here. The manner on how this was all handled is what’s gaining the steam. After the TOUR Championship, LaCava informed DJ of his decision to jump ship and head to the camp of the world’s former #1.
The proper “etiquette” would have been for Tiger to contact DJ about his interest. Now if you believe that LaCava contacted Tiger first, who should have informed who? I find this titillating because Johnson had already arranged for his friends to caddie for him this week at the Dunhill. Could he not have done that next year, too?
I suppose another factor is that Tiger has a scaled down US schedule compared to the one DJ has. That could have been a point as well.
It’s all one happy family, I guess…Freddie, Tiger, and Joe. Strange how a sport that is viewed by some as mundane can create such drama off the field of play.