If you want to know why I hate this rule, this is a prime example. English golfer, Simon Dyson was disqualified from The BMW Masters presented by the SRE Group after the second round for signing an incorrect score card. Dyson was deemed to have violated rule 16-1a when he touched his putting line after marking his ball. Of course, the violation was uncovered after he signed his score card, thus causing the DQ. Professional golf needs to re-visit this rule, and change it.
I don’t have a problem at all with giving Dyson a two-stroke penalty, but why the DQ? This rule was installed many years before officials had High Definition Television, and social media on the internet. It needs to be re-worked to bring it to the 21st century.
European Tour Chief Referee John Paramor said in a statement: “Simon Dyson has been disqualified from the BMW Masters presented by SRE Group under the rules of golf (6-6d). Simon was found to have breached rule 16-1a, which states that a player must not touch his line of putt.”
The 35 year-old Brit is currently 66th in Race to Dubai points, and unless he has a great finish in one of the two remaining tournaments prior to the Tour Championship in Dubai, he will not make the top 60 player cut. This would be a travesty for the six-time European Tour champion who was at one point on Friday, very close to challenging Leader, Luke Guthrie for the tournament lead.
Only the top 60 are eligible for the final event, with Dyson currently ranked 66th. He will now need a good performance in either the WGC-HSBC Champions or Turkish Airlines Open presented by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture to qualify for the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.
You can follow Les on Twitter and in the Golf Community at Google +