Mandatory Credit: Debby Wong-USA TODAY Sports

2014 Wells Fargo Championship: Preview And TV Schedule

The PGA Tour moves into North Carolina for the Wells Fargo Championship this week at the famed Quail Hollow Golf Course, and the first event of which should be an exciting couple of months for golf fans in the Tar Heel state. Of course June will bring both, the men’s, and women’s US Opens. The Wells Fargo Championship will provide a $6.9 Million Dollar purse, and 500 all-important FedEx Cup points for the winner.

Quail Hollow Club was designed by George Cobb, and opened for play in 1962. It hosted the Kemper Open from 1969 until 1979, and The World Seniors Invitational from 1980 to 1989. After Tom Fazio was called in to redo the greens, and add some length to the layout, the PGA Tour returned in 2003. The course is now 7442 yards, and plays to a par of 72.

The finishing three holes at Quail Hollow are referred to as The Green Mile, and is one of the toughest finishing stretches on the PGA Tour. Right up there with The Bear Trap, and others.

With the PGA Championship set to play here in 2017, the course will join the list of major golf courses around the US.

Wells Fargo has promised support for the tournament through 2019, but the 2017 Championship will be played at the Wilmington’s Eagle Point Golf Club they prepare the golf course for the PGA Championship at Quail Hollow.

In the last six years, The Wells Fargo has seen four first-time PGA Tour winners and all under the age of 24. Rory McIlroy was the youngest at age 20 when he won his first PGA Tour event in 2010, Anthony Kim in 2008, and last years Champ, Derek Ernst won at age 22, and Rickie Fowler was 23 when he won the 2012 championship.

One of the top players in the field this week is of course, Phil Mickelson. Phil hasn’t had a top 10 finish in the US this year, but finished runner-up here last year, coming up one stroke short of making the playoff between Brit, David Lynn, and eventual winner, Derek Ernst.  You can follow this link for a listing of the complete field. The Tee-Times have not been posted at this time.

Three previous US Open Champs will be in the field this week, including the last three. Justin Rose, Webb Simpson, and Rory McIlroy.

Anthony Kim holds the 72 hole scoring record of 272 posted in his championship year of 2008, and Rory McIlroy holds the course record with a 62 in the final round of his championship year of 2010.

This is the first of the yearly swing that includes these older Southeastern golf courses where there is more of a premium on shot making ability than raw power. Most tour players are trying to get their games in order as the Players Championship is on-tap next week, and the US Open in June.

• TELEVISION: Thursday-Friday, 3-7 p.m. ET (Golf Channel). Saturday-Sunday, 1-2:30 p.m. (GC), 3-6 p.m. (CBS).



Tags: Derek Ernst Golf PGA Phil Mickelson Rory McIlroy Wells Fargo Championship

comments powered by Disqus