Jim Furyk Tapped for 2024 Presidents Cup Captaincy

Steve Stricker and Jim Furyk, 2021 Ryder Cup,Mandatory Credit: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports
Steve Stricker and Jim Furyk, 2021 Ryder Cup,Mandatory Credit: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports /

Jim Furyk, U.S. Open champ in 2003, U.S. Senior Open champ in 2021, and a 17-time PGA Tour winner, has been named as Captain for the U.S. team for the 2024 Presidents Cup.

“Jim has been a role model and a tremendous ambassador for the PGA TOUR during his remarkable career,” stated PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan in making the announcement.

"“Given the role he has played in the growth and success of the Presidents Cup over the last 25 years as both a competitor and a captain’s assistant, it’s fitting he will bring his leadership skills to Montreal in 2024.”"

“Over the span of several decades this event has evolved tremendously into the global showcase it is today, and I am thrilled to help continue that momentum.,” Furyk said in a statement provided by the PGA Tour.

"“So many legendary captains have come before me, so now to be here as the 2024 U.S. Team Captain is quite remarkable.”"

Furyk now joins an elite group of PGA Tour players to have captained both the Presidents Cup and the Ryder Cup.  Others who have are Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Davis Love III, and Steve Stricker. It is also fitting as Furyk is a back-to-back winner of the Canadian Open, in 2006 and 2007.

"Furyk set two remarkable scoring marks. He is the only PGA Tour player to shoot a 59 and a 58 in PGA Tour events."

There are many significant highlights to Furyk’s career. He is a past FedEx Cup champion, winning at East Lake in 2010. When he turned 50, he won his first two events on the PGA Tour Champions circuit, matching the feats of Arnold Palmer and Bruce Fleisher.

Jim Furyk, Presidents Cup, Royal Montreal Golf Club, 2024 Presidents Cup, USA
Jim Furyk, 2010 Tour Championship, East Lake, Mandatory Credit: Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports /

Jim Furyk also set two remarkable scoring marks.

He is the only PGA Tour player to shoot a 59 and a 58 in PGA Tour events. He shot a 59 in the second round of the 2013 BMW Championship, becoming one of six PGA Tour players to shoot that number.

Then, in the final round of the 2016 Travelers Championship, he bettered it by a stroke and posted a 58 becoming the first player to shoot that score in PGA Tour competition.

Heading up the International squad will be 2003 Masters champion, Mike Weir.

Since the event will be played at Royal Montreal in Canada it is certainly fitting that a Canadian was chosen to head up the International team.

In the history of the event, the U.S. has dominated Presidents Cup play, due in part to golf being an emerging sport in many non-European countries around the world. However, the contests have become closer each playing with the last two being nip and tuck.

New stars, like Tom Kim and Corey Conners, and proven winners, like Hideki Matsuyama and Si Woo Kim, along with veterans like Adam Scott provided a strong challenge for the U.S. in recent events.

Jim Furyk played in nine Ryder Cups and was an assistant captain in 2018.

He played on seven Presidents Cup teams.

He was previously Ryder Cup Captain in 2018 which was played outside Paris, France. In that endeavor, the U.S. team was unable to deliver its best performance.  All had just come off the FedEx Cup playoffs, and several team members admitted afterward that they had little left in the tank after a full season of golf.  However, many of the Europeans also played on the PGA Tour, yet they were able to charge ahead.

The U.S. lost by a large margin of 17.5 to 10.5 points.

Royal Montreal Golf Club will be the host course for the 2024 Presidents Cup.  It was founded in 1873 and is the oldest golf club in North America, although it has moved locations several times over the many decades that it has existed.

Next. The LPGA needs its stars to play like stars in Majors. dark

This is the second time the club has hosted the Presidents Cup. It joins Royal Melbourne Golf Club as the second International course to host the Presidents Cup twice.