How many holes-in-one have there been at the iconic 17th in THE PLAYERS Championship?

THE PLAYERS Championship - Round One
THE PLAYERS Championship - Round One / Mike Ehrmann/GettyImages

THE PLAYERS Championship is one of the most anticipated events on the golfing calendar every year. Held at the iconic TPC Sawgrass, it's a tournament that never fails to deliver drama and excitement at every turn.

One of the main reasons why this tournament rarely fails to deliver pulsating drama and excitement is because of the famous Island Hole at TPC Sawgrass. The Par 3, 17th is one of the most recognizable and intimidating holes in golf, something that famous architect Pete Dye perfected and became widely known for.

Dye's ability to play with a player's mind and provide visually daunting challenges throughout his course designs is one of the many reasons why the layouts he dreamt up are so revered by professionals.

The 17th at Sawgrass is a short Par 3 which is surrounded entirely by water. The unique hole always has its say in determining the winner of this famous championship as tournaments are often won and lost every year on what is arguably the most recognizable hole in golf.

Over the years the 17th has witnessed a handful of players conquer the famous Island Hole and write their names in the history books amongst those who have made a hole-in-one on one of the world's iconic Par 3s.

On Thursday, the 50th PLAYERS Championship witnessed another one of those incredible moments after New Zealander Ryan Fox made an ace on 17.

Fox's hole-in-one marked the second consecutive year that a hole-in-one occurred during the opening round of THE PLAYERS, this coming after Hayden Buckley sent fans into a frenzy after his ace during the opening round of last year's PLAYERS Championship.

How many holes-in-one have there been on 17 in THE PLAYERS Championship?

Since 1982 when THE PLAYERS moved to its new home at TPC Sawgrass, there have been 14 holes-in-one at the famous 17th, including Ryan Fox's this year. On Thursday of this year's PLAYERS Championship, the 37-year-old became just the 14th different player to record an ace on the iconic Par 3.

Here is a look at the elite list of names the New Zealander joins following his memorable moment during round one of this year's PLAYERS.

  • Ryan Fox - 2024
  • Alex Smalley -2023
  • Aaron Rai - 2023
  • Hayden Buckley - 2023
  • Shane Lowry - 2022
  • Ryan Moore - 2019
  • Sergio Garcia - 2017
  • Will Wilcox - 2016
  • Miguel Angel Jimenez - 2002
  • Paul Azinger - 2000
  • Joey Sindelar - 1999
  • Fred Couples - 1997
  • Brian Claar - 1991
  • Brad Fabel - 1986

Incredibly, last year's PLAYERS Championship witnessed three different players record a hole-in-one on the 17th at TPC Sawgrass.

Next. 5 Dark Horses who could win THE 2024 PLAYERS. 5 Dark Horses who could win THE PLAYERS Championship in 2024. light

If more of the same is in store for the 50th edition of THE PLAYERS Championship, fans will be in for quite the treat this week at the home of the PGA Tour's flagship event.